Playing some Mobile MMOs!

As many of you are already aware, I’m not a fan of most mobile games. I simply cannot stand monotonous pay to win mobile strategy games like Clash of Clans, Clash of Kings, or Clash of whatever. It blows my mind that a game like Clash of Clans makes over $1 billion a year (according to SuperDataResearch) when they’re extremely 1 dimensional and require no skill. But somehow all my friends play Clash of Clans…. I guess I need new friends. I recently when on a road trip from California to Las Vegas and since I didn’t need to drive it gave me some time to explore the vast world of free to play mobile games. I’ve always been a fan of MMORPGs so I started my quest by searching the Google Play store for “MMORPG”.

clash-of-clans-battle-ends

The first game that popped up was a relatively popular game mobile MMORPG called Order and Chaos Online 2. I’ve seen their ads before but never played it because I’m mostly playing MMOs on my PC, my latest addiction being Blade and Soul since it launched in the U.S.. I had a lot of time to kill so I gave Order and Chaos Online 2 a shot. I was surprised to find a surprisingly in-depth MMORPG. I always thought mobile games were limited to strategy games (like Clash of clans) and casual titles (like Cut the Rope or Candy Crush). I never knew I could play a fully fledged MMO, albeit not nearly as in-depth as a game like B&S, on mobile. I created a warrior character and got to level 5 rather quickly. I wanted to see what else was out there, so I went back to the app store and found another game that looked interested: Bleach Brave Souls.

order-and-chaos-2-redemption-gameplay42

Bleach Brave Souls caught my eye because it launched relatively recently, January 15, 2016 to be precise. Plus, it’s a Bleach game and I’m a fan of Bleach. And unlike Bleach Online or One Piece Online 2 (two garbage Chinese developed browser MMOs), Bleach Brave Souls was a legit game with high production value. I found the co-op PvE missions to be fun, but the PvP was largely automated which was definitely a buzzkill. The hack n slash style gameplay was akin to, for a lack of better example, Dragon Nest, a traditional PC action MMORPG I’ve played in the past. Unlike Order and Chaos 2 though, Bleach Brave Souls wasn’t an “MMO”. It did have some multiplayer components, but definitely was not an MMO, at least by my definition. Some people stretch the definition of an MMO to include basically any online game, but in my eyes a game needs a persistent world to be an MMO.

bleach-brave-souls-gameplay68

The next and last mobile MMORPG I played on my little road trip was Age of Wushu Dynasty. I wanted to give this one a try because I had played Age of Wushu on the PC before and wanted to see if the two games were comparable. And they sort of were. Both games feature open world PvP and fun action oriented combat. The PC version was much more in-depth though and had way better graphics. Age of Wushu: Dynasty suffered from the same thing almost all Chinese games suffer from: it was way too easy. I spent 30 minutes playing it and I felt like I wasn’t accomplishing anything. I didn’t look forward to leveling up and getting stronger because everything was already too easy to begin with.

Despite not being a mobile gamer (yet), I can safely say the future of mobile gaming is bright. More and more legit games are launching that appeal to traditional hardcore gamers like myself. Probably the best example of this on mobile at the moment is Vainglory, but I haven’t played it yet. I’m already too addicted to MOBAs on the PC to start exploring MOBAs on an entirely different platform. I’m open to trying more mobile games though, so if you guys got any suggestions for me, leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

